Arts et Metiers

The second apartment I visited was not too far from the first one, also near metro Republique but in the 3rd district.  In most listings this neighborhood is described as the Marais, but in my mind the Marais is more near metros St-Paul and Chemin Vert.  Regardless of whether it actually qualifies as the Marais, it’s a great neighborhood that is well-served by public transportation, has countless parks, boutiques, groceries, and fresh markets, and is walking distance to sights like the Place des Vosges.

Plus, the building had an elevator, which I thought was a good sign.  Unfortunately I stupidly forgot to ask what floor the apartment was on before I went to visit.  First floor.  On the road.  Over a restaurant.

Yeah, that’s not gonna happen.  The apartment is the one with the brown shutters closed and the window boxes.

Plus there was no concierge, and no cave, which aren’t in themselves dealbreakers but combined with the small size of the apartment and the fact that it is only on the first floor…NEXT!

The listing is still online but I’d be surprised if it hadn’t sold yet.  I will add additional photos of the interior as soon as I get my camera cable hooked up, but basically the interior was immaculate.  Brand spankin new kitchen with all the appliances included, nice bathroom with fancy 5-jet shower, lots of built in closets, new floors.

The search continues…

Update: here’s a photo of the kitchen.  The tiles might look like aluminum foil, and they would definitely not have been my first choice, but they honestly work in such a small and dark space.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Arts et Metiers”

  1. Why view matters « House Hunting in Paris Says:

    […] was the “view” from the first floor Marais apartment I went to visit.  While the interior was immaculate, like nothing I have seen to this day, that […]

  2. Arts et Metiers (again), Saint-Augustin, Ile Saint Louis « House Hunting in Paris Says:

    […] – Last week I came full circle and went to visit a one-bedroom a few buildings down from one of the very first apartments I visited back in late December.  The street, Rue du Vert bois, remains as charming as ever.  […]

Leave a Reply

