Rue de Lyon

An agency called me up as soon as they got this listing last week and I went to go see it practically immediately, but it was not a coup de coeur and there is not much to say.  While it was in old stone building in between Bastille and Gare de Lyon and would not need any work, the building smelled weird (humid), there is no concierge, and the elevator only goes to the 5th floor so you have to climb one more flight up the crickety service staircase to get to the apartment.  The realtor wasn’t even sure of the loi carrez size so I can’t tell you if it is a fair price or not.  Listing available here – I bet it will take a week or two to sell and maybe for a slightly reduced price.  Next!

Things have been pretty quiet on the housing front lately – it’s the official winter holidays period so many Parisians are out of town.  I’ve been meeting with tons of realtors comme d’hab and scoping out all my dream addresses but the actual apartment visits have slowed to a dribble.  Currently jonesing for Rue Delambre (75014), Rue du Montparnasse (in the 14th – the 6th side will be too expensive) and Rue d’Alençon (75015).  See a pattern here?  They’re all practically within 50 meters of the Montparnasse Tour.  Yep, I’ve gotten quite attached to that eyesore.

As usual, fingers crossed and looking forward to whatever listings the week brings!

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Rue de Lyon”

  1. Struggler Says:

    Funny how smell is almost always a deal-breaker! Shame, but good that the agency thought of you immediately.

  2. Struggler Says:

    I’m so dim I couldn’t discover how to comment at your Tumblr page, so I just popped back here to say those Drouot prints you found are sheer class!
    They will indeed look stunning in your new home, wherever that may be.

  3. househuntinginparis Says:

    Thanks! I think I will end up paying far more out of our rental deposit for the 8 holes I made to hang them than I paid for the prints themselves…

  4. Square Gaston Baty « House Hunting in Paris Says:

    […] distance of Boulevard Edgar Quinet (and some of the “dream” streets I mentioned in this post), my only response was “when can I visit.”  Because look. at. this. […]

Leave a Reply

